Restore

Jake Forster Updated by Jake Forster

Restore Backed-Up Data

This utility allows the user to restore data that was backed-up using the Backup utility.

The destination of the restore is always the current data path as set on the Configuration Options screen.

The user must first select the drive and directory of the backup copy. It can be a floppy disk or a hard disk drive directory. If the backup spans multiple disks then start with the first disk. After changing the source by clicking the drive and directory lists, the NEXT button will become enabled and the color of the source path will change from red to blue when a valid selection has been made. A valid selection must contain the client database file CLIENT##.DBF, where ## is the last two digits of the program year.

When a valid source is selected, click the NEXT button. A list of clients will appear. Select the clients to restore (including <Quick Access>) from the list. To select a group of clients that are next to each other, select the first client; then, while holding down the SHIFT key, select the last client.

To select multiple clients that are not next to each other, hold the CTRL key down while selecting clients. Select the desired restore options. When finished click FINISH.

OPTIONS

Restore Client Information - If checked, the selected client information with MATCHING CLIENT DIRECTORIES will REPLACE the client information in the current database. Unique clients will be added to the database. If not checked, the selected client information, if new, will be added to the database. Nothing will be replaced.

Restore Newer Data Files Only - If checked, the selected client data files are restored to client subdirectories off of the destination directory ONLY IF NEWER. If not checked, the data files are restored regardless of the file date and time stamp.

CAUTION: Using Backup and Restore is not recommended as a method to transfer data files from one working copy of the program to another unless the data sets are continually kept current with each other. The data files for a module are numbered sequentially within a client directory with extensions .D1, .D2, .D3 etc. If a data file is created on one machine with an extension .D1 and the Backup and Restore utilities are used to transfer that data file to another machine then any existing data file in the same client directory for that module with a .D1 extension will be OVERWRITTEN. This may not be what the user intended.

Restore Aux. Files (if Newer) - If checked, the auxiliary files will be copied back to the \INIS subdirectory off of the program directory, IF NEWER. If not checked, NO AUXILIARY FILES will be copied. These files include the preparer database, custom labels, user files for program settings, etc. Normally the user would not need to restore these files. An example of when a user should restore the auxiliary files are when transferring the data to a new computer.

CAUTION: Restoring auxiliary files in a multi-user environment may lead to unintended overwriting of shared files, such as the preparer database or custom labels.

How did we do?

Purge Deleted Clients

Set Client Codes

Contact