Network Utilities

Jake Forster Updated by Jake Forster

Network Utilities (Network Version Only)

The Network Version of this program has several additional features over the single user version.

Two options are available in the Network Version (from the Network Utilities submenu of the Utilities menu on the main screen) to handle the additional features.

Remove All Client Locks

The Network Version provides a measure of added data protection by preventing collisions between multiple users. If one user is adding/editing/deleting data in a client's folder or editing the client information itself, then the program locks other users out of that client's folder thereby protecting the data that is being worked on. When the module is exited the client's folder is released for use by others. In the event of an unnatural program termination (power failure, etc.) the client may be left in a locked state. Remove All Client Locks may be used to unlock all clients that were inadvertently left locked. This utility should be used after all other users have exited from the program.

User List

When starting the program, the User List screen is presented for the user to choose a log-on name. The first time the program is run the user must select ADD and enter their log-on name. Press <ENTER> and select OK to log-on with the selected name. This name can be any string to identify the user. The name is tied to a configuration file which contains the users preferences as established on the Configuration Options screen.Among these options is the specification of a data path. This allows each user to maintain their own set of data (clients and data files). A box may be checked near the bottom of the User List to allow the system to automatically log this user on with the selected User Name the next time the program is started.

Note: All common usage files created in modules (cover letter setup text, custom labels, etc.) are saved in a subdirectory off of the program directory, not with the specific data set currently in use. This means that if a user creates a custom label file then all other users will have access to that file. It does not have to be created for each data path or each user. Since these common files often may be edited or deleted, users should be aware that all users will be affected when these files are changed. The common files may also be inadvertently overwritten when restoring Auxiliary files (see Restore Backed-Up Data for additional cautions).

The User List menu item loads the User List screen from which the user may ADD a user name, or EDIT or DELETE a user name. Select OK to log-on as the selected user name. The current user name will also appear in the window caption of the Configuration Options screen.

How did we do?

Contact