Restore Backed-Up Data

Greg Hatfield Updated by Greg Hatfield

This utility allows the user to restore data that was backed-up using the Backup utility. The entire database or selected clients may be restored. A client and (all their employees/payees) is replaced with the data being restored if the Name, Federal ID, and Control number all match. Employees are never merged into existing data. They are replaced on a client by client basis if the client is a match.

The destination of the restore is always the current data path as set on the Configuration Options screen.

The user must first select the drive and directory of the backup copy. It can be a floppy disk or a hard disk drive directory. If the backup spans multiple disks then start with the first disk. After changing the source by clicking the drive and directory lists, the NEXT button will become enabled and the color of the source path will change from red to blue when a valid selection has been made. A valid selection must contain the client database file PR20##DT.MDB (where 20## is the year).

When a valid source is selected, click the NEXT button. A list of clients will be presented. Select the desired clients and click the FINISH button. The existing PR20##DT.MDB will be renamed PR20##DT.BAK before the clients are restored.

CAUTION: Restore can be used as a method to transfer data files from one working copy of the program to another. However, the restore utility merges CLIENTS into the database. All of the employee records associated with that client will REPLACE the employee records of any client that is being REPLACED. If the program finds an existing client with a matching NAME, ID, and CONTROL NO., the existing client and employees are DELETED and replaced with the restoring client and employees.

The data files for a module (e.g. Form 941, Cover Letter, etc.) are numbered sequentially within a client directory with extensions .D1, .D2, .D3 etc. If a data file is created on one machine with an extension .D1 and the Restore utility is used to transfer that client to another machine then any existing data file in the same client directory for that module with a .D1 extension will be OVERWRITTEN. Data files are not deleted prior to restoring, but are replaced if the extension is the same.

Restore Aux. Files (if Newer) - If checked, the auxiliary files will be copied back to the \INIS subdirectory off of the program directory, IF NEWER. If not checked, NO AUXILIARY FILES will be copied. These files include the preparer database, custom labels, user files for program settings, etc. Normally the user would not need to restore these files. An example of when a user should restore the auxiliary files are when transferring the data to a new computer.

CAUTION: Restoring auxiliary files in a multi-user environment may lead to unintended overwriting of shared files, such as the preparer database or custom labels. The Network Version of the program also sequentially numbers user configuration files. Unintended overwriting of the user files can occur when restoring data backed-up from one machine to another if the user numbers do not match, which will often be the case. Note that the system's underlying user number is only used in naming saved files and is invisible to the user.

How did we do?

Payroll System Overview

Restore Deleted Clients

Contact